Breaking News:

Progressive Supranuclear Palsy Rating Scale

Font size:

The Progressive Supranuclear Palsy Rating Scale (PSPRS) is a disease specific measure of severity in patients with progressive supranuclear palsy (PSP). It measures disability across 28 items in six domains: daily activities (by history), behaviour, bulbar, ocular motor, limb motor and gait/midline. It was devised by Golbe and Strickland.

It is a quantitative measure of disability and attempts to include all of the important areas of clinical impairment in PSP.

Progressive Supranuclear Palsy

Intended Population

This scale is targeted toward measuring the severity of clinical impairments in patients with Progressive supranuclear Palsy (PSP).

Method Of Use


Scale, Pen, Paper.

Cup of water

Training Required:

some examination items require prior clinical training

Time Required:

10 min

Instrument and Scoring

It is a Clinician reported measuring disability across six domains giving a maximum score of 100. It comprises of 28 items in six areas. Six items are rated on a 3-point scale (0–2) and 22 are rated on a 5-point scale (0–4).

  1. The History/Daily Activities area: seven items with a total maximum score of 24,
  2. The Mentation area: four items with a maximum score of 16,
  3. The Bulbar area: two items with a maximum score of 8,
  4. the ocular motor area four items with a maximum score of 16 points,
  5. The limb motor area six items with a maximum score of 16.
  6. The Gait area: five items with a maximum score of 20.

Psychometric Properties

Reliability: excellent (IRR= 0.86, 95% CI= 0.65–0.98)

Good sensitivity to disease progression

Validity: moderate construct validity


Find detailed information here.

Also read: