Skeletal System Overview

Listen to this article

The adult human skeleton is a framework of 206 bones and is anatomically divided into two parts, the axial skeleton, and the appendicular skeleton.

Skeletal System

Axial Skeleton:

The axial skeleton is the core of the skeleton, it consists of the following 80 bones:

image descriptionSkull: 28 bones
image descriptionHyoid: 1 bone
image descriptionVertebrae: 26 bones
image descriptionRibs: 24 bones
image descriptionSternum: 1 bone

Appendicular Skeleton:

The appendicular skeleton is attached to the axial skeleton. It consists of 126 bones.

image descriptionPectoral girdle: 4 bones (Scapula and clavicle).
image descriptionArms and forearms:: 6 bones  (Humerus, ulna, and radius).
image descriptionWrists and hands:: 54 bones (Carpals, metacarpals, and phalanges).

Bony Pelvis: 2 bones (Os coxae).

image descriptionThighs and legs: 8 bones (Femur, patella, tibia, and fibula).
image descriptionAnkles and feet: 52 bones (Tarsals, metatarsals, and phalanges).

Functionally, the bones primarily give support to the appendages and protect the fragile organs of the body such as the brain, spinal cord, heart, and lungs.
They also store calcium and phosphorus in the hard bone matrix, which can be released when needed elsewhere.
The bumps, ridges, and grooves on the surface of bones provide attachment sites for the skeletal muscles.
Additionally, many bones contain a soft tissue called marrow that produces new blood cells and stores fat.

Post a Comment

Post a Comment (0)